Site Search:
Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce - Promote, Protect & Improve home page

Follow Leadership Grand Strand

Facebook - LGS
Leadership Grand Strand gsSCENE
Going Green New Member Seal
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Instagram
Follow us on YouTube Follow us on Google+ Follow us on LinkedIn

US Chamber of Commerce 5-Star Accredited

LGS Alumni eNews Sign Up

Leadership Grand Strand logo


Ann DeBock Leadership Award Reception, January 26, 2018


Carla Schuessler Presented the 2017 Ann DeBock Leadership Award

Carla SchuesslerMYRTLE BEACH, S.C. – Carla Schuessler, executive director of Habitat for Humanity of Horry County, today received the 2017 Ann DeBock Leadership Award. The ceremony that took place at the Ann DeBock Leadership Award Alumni Association Social at the Dunes Golf and Beach Club. Presented by Leadership Grand Strand, a 9-month leadership program of the Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce, the annual award honors one alumnus who has exhibited outstanding leadership and service. The recipient must volunteer in service or civic roles, serve on appointed boards or commissions, and exhibit an overall demonstration of effective leadership skills.

“Carla has an unwavering commitment to making the Grand Strand community a better place to live and work,” said Todd Setzer, chairman of the Leadership Grand Strand Board of Regents. “Whether it’s helping families one-on-one through her role as executive director of Habitat for Humanity or through her volunteer service on numerous boards and committees, she conveys the characteristics of past Ann DeBock Leadership Award recipients and is deserving of the honor of being named the 2017 winner of this prestigious award.”

Originally from Chicago, Schuessler relocated to Myrtle Beach area 1997. She graduated from Illinois State University with a Bachelor of Science in political science. In addition to her duties at Habitat, Schuessler has served on numerous boards and volunteered for a variety of organizations and Horry County, including the Leadership Grand Strand Board of Regents, various Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce committees, March of Dimes, the Grand Strand Housing and Community Development Corporation and Horry County schools.

Schuessler is a dedicated mother to her two sons and encourages their involvement in community through service as well. She is a role model to her colleagues and friends, as well as homeowners at Habitat for Humanity. 

The Ann DeBock Leadership Award was commissioned and started by Class XIX in memory of Ann DeBock, the executive director of Leadership Grand Strand from its inception in 1979 until her death in 1998.

This is the only award presented by Leadership Grand Strand and it is set up to recognize the LGS alumnus who best exemplifies our ideals of leadership and service. As you will see from the list below the past winners of this award are a "Who's Who" of the Grand Strand's finest community leaders:

2000 Vernie Dove
2001 Warren Gall
2002 Lance Thompson
2003 Bill Alford
2004 Susan Grissom Means
2005 Richard Hair
2006 Nick Sherfessee
2007 Dennis Wade
2008 David Brittain
2009 Greg Everett
2010 Bill Pritchard
2011 Barbara Blain-Olds
2012 Dr. Debbie Conner
2013 Danny Isaac, Jr.
2014 Greg Hembree
2015 John Bertang
2016 Marjorie Thompson
2017 Carla Schuessler

Criteria for Award Nominees

Selection Procedures

LGS classes will be divided into four groups. Each group will be responsible for choosing a nominee for the Ann DeBock Leadership Award. They will then provide a written and verbal presentation (which will be taped) on said nominee. These four nominees will then be presented to the class and the LGS Board of Regents members of the Ann DeBock Leadership Award Selection Committee where the overall winner will be decided.

The selection committee will be comprised of four volunteers: (1) Executive Director and (3) Board of Regents members. A majority vote is required for a winner to be selected.

Presentation of the Award

During the Ann DeBock Leadership Award Social in May the recipient and their family will be invited to attend and the presentation of this prestigious award will be made. The recipient will also be recognized again at the chamber's annual meeting in April, an article will be published about them in the Grand Strander newsletter, and they will be highlighted on the Leadership Grand Strand website. Additionally, each award winner will be provided with a copy of the written award nomination that was presented on their behalf.

For more information regarding these scholarships or to make a donation, contact Diana Greene, executive director, by email or call (843) 916-7222.