logo L O A D I N G

December 20, 2023

John RutenbergThe Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce (MBACC) and Convention and Visitors Bureau (CVB) is pleased to announce John Rutenberg will chair the chamber’s esteemed board of directors for 2024. Rutenberg, who is currently serving his second term on the board, is the commercial market president for Truist Financial Corporation, Grand Strand and Pee Dee, a position he has held for the past three years.

“I’m honored to be elected as the board chair for such a commendable organization as the Myrtle Beach Area Chamber,” Rutenberg said. “Through its mission to promote, protect and improve the Grand Strand, the chamber’s staff and board of directors are committed to our role as stewards of this vibrant and welcoming coastal community. I look forward to this leadership role and serving our area by promoting business while protecting our natural resources and improving the quality of life for all.”

In addition, he thanked outgoing chamber board chair Ryan Swaim for his leadership over the past year. “Ryan’s dedication to the chamber and its pursuits deserves the outmost praise,” he added.

Before becoming part of the Truist leadership team, Rutenberg held executive positions at TD Bank and Coastal Carolina National Bank.

In addition to his professional roles, he actively contributes to the community by serving on several boards, including MBACC’s foundation Partnership Grand Strand, Horry Georgetown Technical College’s Foundation, Coastal Carolina University’s Chanticleer Athletic Foundation, and College of Charleston Alumni Association Finance Committee.

Born and raised in Myrtle Beach, he obtained a Bachelor of Arts in political science and communications from the College of Charleston and later earned his Juris Doctor at New York Law School.

He spends most of his free time with friends and family, including his wife, Kim, and their two children, Marietta and Christopher.

In addition to electing Rutenberg, MBACC board members designated eight new directors who will formally join the board in January and serve a three-year term: Sean Bailey, SkyWheel; Scott Dietrich, Edward Jones; Kelli Lane, Hook & Barrell; Declan McGonigal, myBeach Vacation Rentals; John Anderson, HTC; Matt Klugman, Vacation Myrtle Beach; Tony Cox, S.C. Dept. of Transportation; and Radha Herring, Watermark Real Estate.

Sixteen members will remain on the board next year as their terms continue through 2024 or 2025. They are as follows: Dr. Michael Benson, Coastal Carolina University; Kristin Call, Myrtle Beach Pelicans; Chad Carlson, Burroughs & Chapin; Hatton Gravely, YMCA of Coastal Carolina; Jessica Greene, Next Level Behavioral Health & Wellness; Lori Heafner, Horry Georgetown Technical College; Mayur Jeram, New Horizon Hospitality; Mark Loos, Tidelands Health; Ross Martin, Coral Beach Resort; Patrick Norton, Brittain Resorts & Hotels; Bhumi Patel, Burr & Forman LLC; Todd Setzer, A&I Fire & Water Restoration; Chris Shroff, Avista/Sea Side Resorts; Jacob Smith, Sandy Beach Resort; Jay Smith, Prestwick Country Club; and Ryan Swaim, Dunes Realty.

“To have such a diverse and knowledgeable group of individuals represent the chamber board is truly an asset to our entire community,” said MBACC and CVB President and CEO Karen Riordan. “This board of directors led by our newly elected chair, John Rutenberg, will guide the chamber and CVB on its continued mission to deliver best-in-class accountability to our membership and community by delivering resources that strengthen all facets of life here along the Grand Strand.”

The MBACC board is made up of volunteers who are nominated and elected by chamber members to serve three-year terms. For more information on the current board members or on joining the chamber, visit MyrtleBeachAreaChamber.com.

Promote Promote


TD Bank is excited to sponsor the chamber’s Educated Voices On Leading and Valuing Equity (EVOLVE) series as we seek ways to better understand and respect one another. We are committed to demonstrating strong and sustained action to support diverse colleagues, customers and communities to contribute to meaningful, measurable change.